Interview mit Emma Tulley

Elisa Baus und Adrian Koch führten ein Interview mit Emma Tulley aus England
Emma Tulley (Mitte) mit Elisa Baus und Adrian Koch aus der Klasse G7b
Emma Tulley (Mitte) mit Elisa Baus und Adrian Koch aus der Klasse G7b

Elisa Baus und Adrian Koch aus der Klasse G7b führten ein Interview mit Emma Tulley aus England, die seit September als “Teaching Assistant” an unserer Schule Lehrer/Innen im Englischunterricht unterstützt.

Elisa: Hello Emma, can you tell us a little bit about yourself (your full name, where you were born and grew up, how old you are)

Emma: Hi Elisa. My full name is Emma Lucy Tulley and I am twenty years old.  I grew up in a city called Stoke-on-Trent, which is in the centre of England in between Birmingham and Manchester. Stoke-on-Trent is well known in England for its pottery industry and also its premier league football club.

Adrian: Why did you come to Germany?

Emma: I enjoyed learning German in school and for this reason I decided to further my studies in German, and I’m currently studying German at the University of Warwick in England. I am working here at Johannes-Kepler-Schule as part of my year abroad. I really wanted to explore Germany and immerse myself in the German language and culture. 

Elisa: How long have you been learning German? Do you think it’s a difficult language?

Emma: I started learning German in school when I was 12 years old and yes, for me it’s a difficult language to learn. It is especially difficult to remember the gender of nouns, word order etc.

Adrian: Where are you staying at the moment and how long will you be here?

Emma: I am staying in an apartment in Fulda and I have two German flatmates who are studying physiotherapy at university. I will be staying in Germany for 9 months in total and then I will return to my university in England to complete my final year.

Elisa: In which way are students in Germany different from students in England?

Emma: Overall, I think that the behaviour of students is a little better in Germany, and I find that students are generally more polite. In my opinion, the school environment is more relaxed and enjoyable here in Germany than in England.

Adrian: What were you like in school and which were your favourite lessons?

Emma: I was very hard-working in school and I studied a lot. My favourite subjects were German, Biology, History and Textiles.

Elisa: What are your future plans? Do you want to be a teacher?

Emma: I am enjoying helping out at Johannes-Kepler-Schule at the moment but I have no firm plans to become a teacher. I enjoy my translation classes at university and so I’m interested in becoming a translator after I have finished my studies. I would also like to travel around the world.

Adrian: Have you read any Harry Potter books? – They are very popular in Germany.

Emma: Sadly I haven’t read the Harry Potter books but I would really like to. However, I have watched all of the films and my favourite is  ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’.

Elisa: What is your favourite music and which TV show do you like the best?

I mainly like to listen to R&B and my favourite song at the moment is a German song by Mark Forster ft. Sido called “Au Revoir”. My favourite TV show is “F.R.I.E.N.D.S” which is an American comedy series from the ‘90s that is set in New York. It is very popular in the USA and the UK.

Adrian: Have you tried traditional German food like “Bratwurst” or “Sauerkraut”.

Emma: Unfortunately I haven’t tried the traditional “Bratwurst” because I’m actually vegetarian but maybe I will try “Sauerkraut” during my stay here. However, I have tried pretzels and I think that they are very tasty.

Elisa: What do you like to do in your free time?

Emma: At the moment I like to travel and meet up with friends. I enjoy reading classics by authors such as Jane Austen, who is an English author from the early 1800’s, and I also like listening to music.

Adrian: What are you really good at?

I used to play the viola and I really enjoy doing crafts.

Elisa: Do you miss home?

Emma: Yes, sometimes I miss my friends and family, but I am really enjoying helping out at the school and travelling around Germany. I have also made friends during my time here, who I can meet up and go on trips with. I think that this is a wonderful opportunity and I’m having a great time so far.

Adrian: What is the funniest thing that has happened to you in Germany?

Emma: Nothing notably funny has happened to me since I arrived, but I did go on a weekend away with some friends I met here, and the apartment we stayed in had seen better days. Everything kept breaking and the bathroom door wouldn’t even close. It was certainly an interesting stay!

Elisa: And finally, what are your hobbies?

Emma: When I have time, I like to do crafts and woodwork at home. I also like to go antique fairs because I think that the age and history of the items for sale is really interesting. 

Adrian: Thank you for talking to us today.

Emma: My pleasure.